top of page
  • Writer's pictureLorena Harper

REMEMBERING WOMEN

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY TO YOU FROM ME!


May we take time out to reflect on important women who gave birth to us, loved us, molded, and mentored us along the way to become who we are now. Often, we take our Mothers and Mother figures in our lives for granted and forget to express gratitude.

My Mother passed away 25 years ago on May 13th, a day before Mother's Day and I was devastated; I felt lost without her. Although, I knew that my Mother was dying and had little time left, yet at age 40; I still needed her and was not ready to let her go. She was ready and had prepared me for her leaving a month before her death. My Mother told me that she was ready to get a new body and to be at home with JESUS. I kept my promises for everything that she asked me to do the last time we talked and I have no regrets.

Years before my Mother got sick, I took some time off from my job (I lived in Boston at the time and she was in Maryland) to spend a summer with her and had an opportunity to ask forgiveness for all of the times I broke her heart and made her cry because of things I did that were disappointments. I tried to be the best daughter that I could be and called her often to tell her how much I loved her and appreciated the sacrifices she made to give birth to me and to raise me. I was a surprise baby that Mom had after having two sons who were close to adulthood. My birth was difficult and my Mother as well as myself were not expected to live, but we made it.


I wanted to share this to remind everyone who still has a Mother to tell them how much you love them, apologize if necessary, and make peace with them if there is something that is standing in the way of a close bond. By the way, a Mother's love cannot be replaced, and even if she gets on your nerves - she has earned your respect because she chose to suffer through stretch marks, swollen feet, morning sickness, labor pains, childbirth, and raising you. A Mother's love is unconditional and no matter how old one becomes, she is the one you can turn to when an attentive ear, love, and hugs are needed. Some people are blessed to have women in their lives who are like Mothers to them and The LORD always knows who to send and when they are needed in our lives - I have been blessed over the years myself with special Mothers-in-Christ.


I pray that you will have a memorable and loving conversation with your Mothers and Mothers-in-Christ today, but do not let this be your only time. Please take time out to cherish special women in your lives because tomorrow is not promised and they need attention throughout the weeks and not just on Mother's Day. Remember that you do not have to give birth to a child to be a Mother because every woman has a purpose chosen by The LORD; He just needs you to be a willing vessel to do His Will. Show love to someone in your family who may need extra attention, become a mentor, and be a good role model in your communities that girls and young women can see the reflection of Christ when they encounter you.


Enjoy being a woman, celebrate yourself, rejoice in being who you are because you are loved by The LORD.


I leave you with some Bible verses about women (I encourage you to read the entire chapters to be reminded of the value women have in God's Kingdom Building process):


"And Deborah, a prophetess, the wife of Lapidoth, she judged Israel at the time." [Judges 4:4]


"And the women said unto Naomi, Blessed be the LORD, which hath not left thee this day without a kinsman, that his name may be famous in Israel." [Ruth 4:14]


"And Hannah prayed, and said, My heart rejoiceth in the LORD, mine horn is exalted in the LORD; my mouth is enlarged over mine enemies; because I rejoice in thy salvation." [I Samuel 2:1]


"...I also and my maidens will fast likewise; and so will I go in unto the king, which is not according to the law: and if I perish, I perish." [Esther 4:16] "And the decree of Esther confirmed these matters of Purim and it was written in the book." [Esther 9:32]


"Favor is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised." [Proverbs 31:30]


"And Mary said, My soul doth magnify the Lord." [St. Luke 1:46]


"The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness; not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things: That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husands, to love their children..."[Titus 2:3-4]

May you have a wonderful week filled with joy, peace, love, and excellence in health!


Love-in-Christ, Apostle Joni A. Kindell

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Divine Clarity

As I continue to seek The Lord for guidance, I realized that upon every time He wakes me up; there is a new opportunity for working on...

Embrace Hope

As we embark upon the Season of Advent, there is much to reflect upon, improve upon, and pray about to allow a deeper connection with The...

1 Comment


lah_1987
May 25, 2020

Thank you for sharing your personal relationship with your mother and being transparent! This was a humbling read.

Like
bottom of page